Skip to main content

Five rivals in depth, eight on the table The honest guide to interior design software.

Each checked on what a studio asks: the price, Xero and UK VAT, and a warning before an order is late. Price, Xero and late orders, checked. Where a rival is better, we say so.

Free for 30 days, no card. We move your schedules across free.

The category

What you are actually choosing between.

Every serious tool here will hold a product library, raise a purchase order, publish a schedule to a client and produce an invoice. Compare those and you are comparing table stakes.

The differences that survive a real project are narrower. Does the system know when an order has to be placed, not only when it was? Does the money reach your accounts in the right currency with the right VAT, or does someone re-key it? Does the quoted price still describe the bill once the studio has six people and twelve live jobs?

Side by side

Pick your comparison.

The short verdict each way. Each page carries the full feature matrix, the cost and what moving across involves.

Also worth a look: Planify, if you want a simple tool for the whole studio at one low price ($24.49 a month billed yearly, unlimited team) and keep your accounts separately. Fohlio, if your work is hospitality or multi-site FF&E at scale.

At a glance

Eight tools on the table, the UK questions.

Price, books and install-date risk, from each vendor’s own pages. Prices as published, in the currency published. “Not listed” means we could not find it, not that it cannot be done.

Eight interior design tools compared for UK studios: who each is built for, published price, accounting link and install-date FF&E risk
ToolBuilt forPublished price a monthBooks and XeroInstall-date FF&E risk
TechstylesStudios; built in the UK£49 per user, £39 from the sixth, excl. VATTwo-way Xero, GBP and UK VATOrder-by date per item, from the install
ProgramaAustralian-born, multi-market£55 incl. one seat, +£23 per seat, billed yearly (£69 + £29 monthly)Invoices sync to Xero or QuickBooksOverdue alerts once a date passes
Houzz ProRenovation and design pros, with the Houzz marketplaceFrom £139, +£47 per extra userQuickBooks; Xero listed (sends data to Xero), plan not statedNot listed
Design Manager“Optimized for US-based firms”$79 per user (US dollars)Its own ledger; Xero not listedNot listed
Studio DesignerFirms wanting accounting built in$69–$109, billed yearly (no GBP listed)Its own general ledger; Xero not listedNot listed
DesignFilesSolo designers and small teams$55–$75 for one designer, +$30 per userQuickBooks on Full Service; Xero not listedNot listed
PlanifyDesigners and architects; made in Kraków$24.49 for the studio, billed yearlyNo accounting link listedNot listed
FohlioHospitality, retail and large firmsNot publishedNot listedNot listed
  • Techstyles
    Built for
    Studios; built in the UK
    Price a month
    £49 per user, £39 from the sixth, excl. VAT
    Books and Xero
    Two-way Xero, GBP and UK VAT
    Install-date risk
    Order-by date per item, from the install
  • Programa
    Built for
    Australian-born, multi-market
    Price a month
    £55 incl. one seat, +£23 per seat, billed yearly (£69 + £29 monthly)
    Books and Xero
    Invoices sync to Xero or QuickBooks
    Install-date risk
    Overdue alerts once a date passes
  • Houzz Pro
    Built for
    Renovation and design pros, with the Houzz marketplace
    Price a month
    From £139, +£47 per extra user
    Books and Xero
    QuickBooks; Xero listed (sends data to Xero), plan not stated
    Install-date risk
    Not listed
  • Design Manager
    Built for
    “Optimized for US-based firms”
    Price a month
    $79 per user (US dollars)
    Books and Xero
    Its own ledger; Xero not listed
    Install-date risk
    Not listed
  • Studio Designer
    Built for
    Firms wanting accounting built in
    Price a month
    $69–$109, billed yearly (no GBP listed)
    Books and Xero
    Its own general ledger; Xero not listed
    Install-date risk
    Not listed
  • DesignFiles
    Built for
    Solo designers and small teams
    Price a month
    $55–$75 for one designer, +$30 per user
    Books and Xero
    QuickBooks on Full Service; Xero not listed
    Install-date risk
    Not listed
  • Planify
    Built for
    Designers and architects; made in Kraków
    Price a month
    $24.49 for the studio, billed yearly
    Books and Xero
    No accounting link listed
    Install-date risk
    Not listed
  • Fohlio
    Built for
    Hospitality, retail and large firms
    Price a month
    Not published
    Books and Xero
    Not listed
    Install-date risk
    Not listed

Last checked October 2026, from each vendor’s own pages. Products change; tell us if something has moved on.

Predictive, not reactive

The expensive mistake is the order nobody has placed yet.

Every tool here can tell you what you ordered. The question that costs a studio money is about the order nobody has placed, and only a system that holds lead times against an install date can answer it.

Techstyles gives every line an order-by date and scores it blocked, at risk, watching or OK.

How install-date scoring works

The Mews House living-room FF&E schedule in Techstyles, scored against the 19 Feb install: the club chairs are blocked because the velvet is out of stock, the bouclé sofa is at risk and must be ordered by Friday 13 November, the alcove joinery is being watched, and the aged brass chandelier is ordered. Techstyles procurement for Mews House: £50,920 across the schedule, and Atelier's procurement risks showing the club chairs blocked, out of stock, and the hall lantern to order within 8 days.
Mews House, procurement. The real Techstyles app.

How to choose

How to choose interior design software: five questions for every vendor.

Including us. If a demo cannot answer these in the product, the answer is no.

Show me an item nobody has ordered yet that is already too late.
The question that separates a procurement ledger from a risk system. A tool that reports on placed orders cannot answer it. Ask to see the item, the lead time it used, and the date it decided the order window closed.
Raise an invoice in GBP with VAT, show it in Xero, then pay it and show the payment back.
Both directions, in one demo, without a CSV. If the answer involves a monthly reconciliation, that is your answer.
Price this for six people and twelve live projects, with everything we just saw switched on.
Not the entry tier. Ask which features in the demo sit on a higher plan, whether there is a per-project charge, and what onboarding costs on top.
How does a contractor see what they need, and nothing else?
Trades need the schedule and the drawings without your margins. A tool with no contractor access makes you the inbox between them and the job.
If we leave in a year, what comes with us?
Ask for the export format for your product library, clients and project history before you sign, not after. Any vendor confident in the product will answer plainly. We will.

Method

How we write these comparisons.

Every comparison here is written by us, so read it as our view rather than an independent review. We describe each competitor from its own published material. Where we cannot find a capability we say “not listed”, never “no”, and we quote a rival’s price only where they publish it. Last checked October 2026.

Competitors ship changes constantly. If something here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Further readingThe best interior design software for UK studios in 2026

See your own schedule scored against its install dates.

Bring one live project from whichever tool you use; we move it across for you.

Send us a schedule

Free for 30 days, no card. We move your schedules across free.