Skip to main content

A Houzz Pro alternative that costs less, with every order dated.

Techstyles vs Houzz Pro for UK studios. Houzz Pro bundles software with a route to new clients through its marketplace. Techstyles is studio software only: an order-by date on every FF&E line, Xero both ways in GBP on every seat, and a lower monthly bill at every team size.

Free for 30 days, no card. Free migration from Houzz Pro.

At a glance
QuestionTechstylesHouzz Pro
Late ordersOrder-by date per item, from the installNot listed
Price£49 per user, excl. VATPro from £139 incl. one seat, +£47 per user
XeroTwo-way, in GBP with UK VAT, every seatXero listed (sends data to Xero); plan not stated
TradesContractor portal on every seatSubcontractor management, Custom plan
SupportUK hours, British EnglishUK site and pricing; hours not listed

Last checked October 2026. Our reading of both products; tell us if something has moved on.

What differs

Four differences, in the order that matters.

The install date first, the marketplace last.

  1. Every FF&E line gets an order-by date

    Houzz Pro raises purchase orders on every plan, and tracks selections and budgets on its Custom plan. Techstyles reads each line’s supplier lead time, counts back from the day it has to be on site and flags it blocked, at risk, watching or OK. On a phased install you find out in week four, not week eleven.

  2. Xero both ways, on every seat

    Houzz Pro lists a Xero integration that sends invoices, purchase orders and payments into Xero; its pricing grid doesn’t say which plan carries it. Techstyles includes Xero on every account and reads back too: a payment your bookkeeper records in Xero shows against the project, in GBP with VAT on the line.

  3. Everything on one price per seat

    Houzz Pro’s Pro plan is from £139 a month plus £47 per extra user. Techstyles is £49 per user, £39 from the sixth. The table below does the arithmetic. Houzz puts selections, budgets and subcontractor management on its Custom plan, priced on request.

  4. Software only, no marketplace

    Houzz Pro is part of the Houzz ecosystem, which is valuable if Houzz is where your clients find you. Techstyles is studio software only. Its AI drafts emails, tidies notes, writes a daily brief and adds procurement risk insights, and nothing goes out until you approve it.

Predictive, not reactive

Selections tell you what was chosen. This tells you when to order it.

Techstyles starts from the date each item has to be on site, subtracts the supplier lead time, and shows which orders have to go out this week, and which windows have already shut.

How install-date scoring works

Fig. 01Selections, with dates. Each line's order-by date counted back from a 14 November install.

Houzz Pro pricing UK

Houzz Pro pricing in the UK: Techstyles costs less.

Monthly cost in pounds by team size, against Houzz Pro's Pro plan, its cheapest paid plan. Both start with a 30-day free trial.

Monthly cost of Techstyles and Houzz Pro by team size, in pounds
TeamTechstylesexcl. VATHouzz ProPro plan, fromTechstyles costs
1 person£49£139£90 less
3 people£147£233£86 less
6 people£284£374£90 less
10 people£440£562£122 less

Techstyles: £49 per user per month, £39 from the sixth user, excluding VAT. Houzz Pro: Pro plan from £139 a month including one seat, plus £47 per extra user, from houzz.co.uk/houzz-pro/pricing, checked October 2026. Houzz does not say whether its prices include VAT; if they do, Techstyles is still the cheaper of the two at every size shown. Houzz’s annual subscription begins at the end of its 30-day trial. Selections, budgets and subcontractor management are on its Custom plan, priced on request, so these Pro figures are the floor.

What Houzz Pro adds for the money

A marketplace and advertising
A Houzz profile in front of homeowners, with advertising packages from £119 a month on top.
3D floor plans
A 3D floor planner on every paid plan. Techstyles has none.
QuickBooks Online
If your books are in QuickBooks rather than Xero, Houzz Pro connects to it; Techstyles does not.
A joiner fitting a limed oak kitchen island with fluted panels under a glazed roof
Fig. 02If most work comes by referral, the deciding questions are about delivery.

The marketplace question

Software you buy, or a channel you join.

Houzz Pro bundles two things usually sold separately: business software and a route to market. If a real share of your enquiries arrives through Houzz, that bundle earns its price, and the 3D floor planner is a genuine extra.

If most of your work comes through referral, press and repeat clients, the deciding questions are about delivery: does the schedule warn you before an order is late, and does the money reconcile in Xero without re-keying? Some studios keep a free Houzz profile for visibility and run delivery in Techstyles. That works.

The short answer

Which is right for your studio?

The short version: Houzz Pro if Houzz finds you clients, Techstyles if delivery is the hard part.

Choose Techstyles if you…

  • Win most work by referral, press and repeat clients
  • Need every FF&E line to carry an order-by date from the install
  • Keep the books in Xero and want payments to flow back to the project
  • Brief trades through a portal without moving up a plan

Houzz Pro may suit you if you…

  • Get a real share of enquiries through the Houzz marketplace
  • Want 3D floor plans and renders in the same tool
  • Run your books in QuickBooks Online

Feature by feature

The whole matrix, nothing hidden.

Including the rows where Houzz Pro matches us. “Not listed” means we could not find it in Houzz Pro’s public material, not that it cannot be done.

Feature-by-feature comparison of Techstyles and Houzz Pro
FeatureTechstylesHouzz Pro
Procurement and install dates
Order-by date per item, counted back from the installYesNot listed
Product clipper and libraryYesYes
Purchase ordersYesYes
Selections and budgetsYesCustom plan
Project schedulesYesCustom plan
UK finance
Xero integration with UK VATYesListed; plan not stated
Payments recorded in Xero show against the projectHouzz Pro describes a sync from Houzz Pro to XeroYesNot listed
QuickBooks Online integrationNoYes
Invoicing and online paymentsInvoicing; payment status shownYes
Clients and trades
Client portal or dashboardYesBasic on Pro
Contractor and trade portalHouzz lists subcontractor management on CustomEvery seatCustom plan
3D floor plannerNoYes
Leads and advertising on a marketplaceNoYes
AI assistance
Email drafts you approve before sendingYesNot listed
Meeting notes tidied onto the projectYesNot listed
Daily brief across every projectYesNot listed
Procurement risk insightsYesNot listed

Last checked October 2026, from each product’s public material. Products change; tell us and we will correct it.

Switching

Moving across from Houzz Pro.

Migration is free, and we do the moving. Your Houzz profile and reviews stay where they are.

Product library
Products come across from your Houzz Pro export with images, pricing and supplier details.
Clients and contacts
Client records and contact details transfer, so nobody re-keys an address book mid-project.
Live projects
Current projects are recreated with rooms, schedules and budgets; clients get new portal access.
Xero and install dates
Connect Xero: invoices go out in GBP with VAT, and payments come back to the project. Add each install date and the order-by dates appear on the FF&E you have already specified.

Questions

What studios ask first.

Something not covered?
Ask us, a person answers.

Is Techstyles a good Houzz Pro alternative for UK studios?

If delivery is the hard part, yes: every FF&E line gets an order-by date counted back from the install, the Xero sync runs both ways in GBP with UK VAT, and it costs less than Houzz Pro's Pro plan at every team size. If the Houzz marketplace is where your clients come from, or you rely on its 3D floor planner, Houzz Pro is the better fit.

Does Houzz Pro integrate with Xero in the UK?

Houzz lists Xero among its integrations, without saying which plan includes it. Houzz Pro's UK integration sends estimates, invoices, purchase orders and payments to Xero, with VAT rates mapped; its published material describes the sync from Houzz Pro to Xero. Techstyles includes Xero on every account and also reads back, so a payment recorded in Xero shows against the project.

How much does Houzz Pro cost in the UK compared with Techstyles?

Houzz Pro's Pro plan is from £139 a month, plus £47 for each extra user, on an annual subscription that begins after its 30-day trial. Techstyles is £49 per user per month, £39 from the sixth user, excluding VAT, also with a 30-day trial. Six people pay £284 a month on Techstyles and from £374 on Houzz Pro's Pro plan; its selections and budgets are on the Custom plan, priced on request.

Do I lose my Houzz profile and reviews if I switch?

No. Your Houzz profile and reviews belong to your Houzz account, and Houzz keeps a free basic profile. Some studios keep the profile for visibility and run delivery in Techstyles. We migrate project, client and product data; we do not touch your listing.

Can we move our projects across from Houzz Pro?

Yes, and migration is free. We bring your projects, clients and product library across, and you connect Xero on day one.

Run delivery somewhere independent.

We move your projects, clients and product library from Houzz Pro for you. Free for 30 days, no card needed.

A designer at a long work table beneath a steel warehouse window, fabric samples laid out